Team USA retains Teen World Cup, 7-2


Complete Results

For the second year in a row, the International Team and the United States team were tied 2-2 with five matches remaining in the Teen World Cup. And for the second year in a row, the Americans were victorious in each of the last five matches on Pinehurst No. 2 and claimed the Cup by a score of 7-2.

In each age group, the top four boys and top two girls from the United States played against their International counterparts in the Teen World Cup on Pinehurst No. 2. In the nine team best ball stroke play matches, the team with the lowest score after 18 holes won one point for his/her team.

The competition opened with a pair of one-stroke matches, as the International’s Frederik Sejr (Denmark) and Ryan Monsalve (Philippines) won the first match, 71-72, while the Americans’ Alyssa Maloureux (Florida) and Veronica Joels (Nevada) won by the same score in Match 2.

Luis Carrera (Mexico) and Alejandro Gutierrez (Mexico) carded a 1-under-par 71 and gave the Internationals a 2-1 advantage, but the momentum was haulted by Team USA’s Andrew Walker (Michigan) and Rj David (Arizona) in Match 4. Walker and David recorded a bogey-free 33 on the back nine en route to the day’s best score, a 5-under-par 67, and a three-stroke victory over Victor Sanchez (Mexico) and Damon Crane (Canada).

From there, Team USA relied on three Teen World Cup veterans to help bring home the victory. Kendall Griffin (Florida), Anna Buchanan (Georgia) and Matthew Ruel (Florida) won their matches for the second year in a row and helped give the United States a 4-1 edge in the all-time series.

Griffin paired with Kennedy Swann (Texas) and shot 72, Buchanan and Chloe Corriveau (California) shot 70, while Ruel and Brandon Vance shot 69 in the anchor match.

The International Team was represented by 10 countries (Canada, Colombia, Costa Rica, Denmark, Iceland, Indonesia, Mexico, Peru, Philippines and the United Kingdom), and the nine International teams combined to shoot 3-over-par.

Team USA was represented by 12 states (Alabama, Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Michigan, Minnesota, Nevada, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee and Texas) and the nine American teams combined to shoot 18-under-par.

// Chris Richards, USKG Senior Manager of Communications


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s